Online Marketing by an Undergraduate

Icon

making sense of marketing one post at a time

Finding Something to Love in a Job

Stephen King recounts in “On Writing” how he knew his son was not meant to play the saxophone because his son played only during the times the instructor assigned. His son didn’t love the sax.

The old adage is do what you love and you’ll find success (in some way). That stance scares me. What if people think what I like is worthless? How will I make a living? Or will I have the fortitude to see my interest get recognized.

With qualification, the message becomes more relevant. Having taken a job that pays the bill – or provides some spending money on the side — I can find something within any job that I love and I can do it. It doesn’t have to be part of my job description, but by doing it I will find contentment and joy.

How about you? Have you found something you love within the framework of something you don’t?

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Archives

Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
