Online Marketing by an Undergraduate

Icon

making sense of marketing one post at a time

Winning Way by Gyutae Park – Helpful Blogging Hints

After reading 27 pages of suggestions on blogging in the Winning Way, I thought I’d share just a few tips that made me say “yes!” If you want to read the whole book you can download it here.

The Winning Way, by Gyutae Park

The Winning Way, by Gyutae Park, image source: http://bit.ly/uvwhi

  1. Separate Writing from Editing –> Great advice. When I write, I nitpick. I struggle to write the perfect sentence. My rate of success aside, editing while I write arrests my flow. When he says, “writing is a creative process, and editing is a critical one,” the separation clicks. Only after giving free rein to my creativity will I edit.  The separation may lengthen the writing process, but the benefits will be a more fluid, creative writing style, one with more me on the paper. Let me know how I’m doing please (thanks!).
  2. Give Interviews (via email, podcasts, and videos) –> Cool idea. Publishing an interview on a blog makes private knowledge public. The more a blogger does that, the greater his value to the community. I want to try it.
  3. Show Post Excerpts –> Beginning now. Rather than let a 1,000 word blog post dominate a homepage, Park suggests providing excerpts of each post. This allows readers to more easily find  interesting material.
  4. Magazine Style Format –> For when I buy a domain. Park uses the magazine style for his website. By using this format, a blogger can prevent time from determining a visitor’s first impression.  Rather than make the most recent post the dominating feature, a blogger can make his most important element dominate. It gives him freedom.

What are some of your favorite Winning Way tips? Even better, what are some of your own tips you have picked up along the way?

Filed under: Blogging Education, , ,

2 Responses

  1. One of the better tips I’ve gotten lately is to create an editorial calendar much like a magazine does. This way – you can plan on what you’re writing days if not weeks ahead, which makes the whole prospect of coming up with a new idea/post every day a little less daunting.

    I love the idea of providing interviews. Duct Tape Marketing is one guy who has really done well in this department – and built an incredible brand as a result. I’m going to pursue that most definitely. Thanks for the tip.

    • jtarre says:

      Chris, thanks for sharing your tip about creating an editorial calendar, and thanks for the heads up about Duct Tape Marketing, much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
