Online Marketing by an Undergraduate

Icon

making sense of marketing one post at a time

A Back to Basics Summer

I am a math major lacking mastery of basic skills like mental math and algebra. This is how I feel and the reason I am going to spend part of my summer mastering this basic math.

I chose these two facets of mathematics for a specific reason. Mental math because I am an aspiring consultant and I will need to do calculations on the spot in my fall interviews (no calculators allowed). I will practice with books dedicated to improving mental calculation speed and I will review them when I am done, maybe someone is looking to improve the same skill.

Additionally, I want to relearn algebra to strengthen my foundation for my probability class in the fall, a goal I will accomplish by enrolling in the Kumon program. If I get over the embarrassment of working with high schoolers, I think the practice will be effective.

Is there anything in your life that you feel you have had much exposure to, but have glossed over the fundamentals? Could this be a problem with education in general? Too much thrown at us and not enough time spent mastering anything?

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Archives

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
