Online Marketing by an Undergraduate

Icon

making sense of marketing one post at a time

What’s in a Meeting?

Last night, my Wildbloom Group had our second meeting. The experience was painful.

I prepared the weekly agenda to focus our discussion on essential topics, but my efforts were fruitless. We talked about points of tangential importance to the establishment of our chapter and essential short term needs received passing mention. I watched my teammates fidget while their eyes glazed over.

However, the meeting has presented an opportunity for improvement. I realize that our meetings lack a formal structure and a way to capture good ideas to save for later. I want to investigate how to make meetings more effective.

What formal structures have you found successful? How do you retain good ideas but stay on task?

My experience yesterday also provoked the question, what is the purpose of a meeting? I believe a meeting provides a forum for updates and discussing previous research, but is not the place for idea exploration. What are your thoughts about meetings?

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Archives

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
